The Story Behind our NEW Non-Dairy Flavors

The Story Behind our NEW Non-Dairy Flavors

We are dipping into the plant-based dessert category with two new mouth-watering non-dairy flavors, Non-Dairy Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough and Non-Dairy Chocolate Extreme available in stores nationwide beginning August 1. To celebrate this exciting launch, we are telling the story behind these vegan* takes on classic fan favorites. Keep reading to learn more!

These two flavors are made with a base blend of coconut oil and almond butter, making them so rich and indulgent that even the pickiest of ice cream lovers won’t be able to tell that they are not eating a full-dairy version. The Non-Dairy Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough is a non-dairy cookie dough flavored frozen dessert with cookie dough pieces, chocolate chips and a chocolate fudge ribbon. The Non-Dairy Chocolate Extreme is a chocolate-flavored non-dairy frozen dessert with semi- sweet chocolate chips and a chocolate fudge ribbon, and is also gluten conscious.**

We met with Jeanne Bolger, Director of Research and Development for Baskin-Robbins to learn more about how these flavors came to be. With the rise in vegetarian, plant-based food sales, and such a high consumer demand for a product like this, these flavors were born. To expand our dessert portfolio into the vegan space and offer guests increased options, these flavors had been in development since 2017 to get the product right and set a new standard in the non-dairy category by prioritizing taste and texture. This resulted in a smooth and indulgent dessert that does not compromise flavor, delivering a taste that customers would experience with any other Baskin-Robbins ice cream. The Culinary Team chose these specific flavors because they are so familiar to customers everywhere and would resonate with our fans who may not have tried a non-dairy option before. Both flavors do not contain artificial dyes, artificial flavors, preservatives or high fructose corn syrup and are Kosher.

Be sure to stop by your local Baskin-Robbins after August 1st to give these new Non-Dairy flavors a try!

Are excited about our Non-Dairy flavors? Let us know on FacebookTwitter, and Instagram!

To stay up to date on all things Baskin-Robbins, sign up for our email news alerts at news.baskinrobbins.com/alerts.

*Baskin-Robbins definition of a vegan menu items is a food or beverage with no animal sources: no meat, fish, shellfish, milk, egg or honey products, and no enzymes and rennet from animal sources. All of Baskin-Robbins menu items (vegan and non-vegan) are prepared in the same area. Baskin-Robbins cannot guarantee that there will be no cross-contact between products or ingredients.

** Gluten-conscious means that the ice cream/frozen dessert/ice/sorbet/frozen yogurt/sherbet flavor is made without gluten-containing ingredients. Although many of Baskin-Robbins’ flavors do not contain ingredients with gluten, they are NOT produced in a gluten free environment, which means there is always a chance for cross contact with gluten from other products in the manufacturing facility or restaurant. Given the likelihood of cross-contact in our restaurants, this list is not suitable for people with Celiac Disease, a heightened gluten sensitivity or a wheat allergy.